Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Sundance Institute Launches Grant Fund and Momentum Fellowship

Sundance Institute is a non-profit organization that aims to promote unique talent of artists on a global platform via a grand festival called Sundance Film Festival. Sundance film festival takes place every year with over more than 124,000 attendees including artists, directors and producers. Other projects include Indigenous short programs and international short films.

Another program, known as “Momentum Fellowship” aims to create professionals like women; people from different races; and the disabled to come forward and help alleviate their career by brushing up on their skills.

Sundance Institute also offers a $10,000 grant to 4-5 artist each year under their “Launch Grant Fund” program. 

2020 Momentum Fellowship Recipents

Andrew Ahn

Andrew Ahn (Korean-American), a California Institute graduate with a film directing degree. 

Credits: Driveways,This close, Spa night


  • George Sunga Media Access Award

  • John Cassavetes Independent Spirit Awards 2017

  • Producers Guild of America 

Linda Yvette Chávez

A producer and screenwriter with sketch clients like pepsi, Nickelodeon and Univision. Co founder of COMEDIVA.


Credits: Gentefied, Christina Choe, I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

Christina Choe

A Sundance 2018 debut filmmaker. (Nancy - US Dramatic Competition category)

Credits: Nancy, Welcome To The DPRK, The Twilight Zone, The Act.

Awards: Waldo Salt Best Screenplay Award 2018

Deborah Esquenazi

Screenwriter, Film director and an investigative journalist. 

Credits: “Southwest of Salem: The Story of the San Antonio Four,Queen of Wands, El Vacio.


  • Critic’s Choice Award

  •  GLAAD Media Award

Rodney Evans

A filmmaker, documentarian, a lecturer and a director for over 2 decades. 

Credits: Vision Portrait, Brother to Brother

Awards: Special Jury Prize

Penny Lane

An award winning non fictional filmmaker for a decade. Her “Hail Satan” premiered at Sundance 2019.

Credits: The Pain of Others, Our Nixon, Nuts!


  •  Special Jury Prize

  • Vanguard Award

Avril Z. Speaks

Producer, director and a film educator. Creates unique films. 

Credits: African-America, American Race, Jinn, Sophisticated Romance, The Round Table


  •  Movie Magic Producer Award 2018

  • Special Jury Recognition for Writing

Malika Zouhali-Worrall

An Emmy award winning director and editor.

Credits: Thank You For Playing, Earn A Living, Through The Night


  • Year-long Chicken & Egg Award fellowship

  •  Emmy for Outstanding Arts & Culture Documentary.

2020 Launch Grant Fund Recipients

Marion Hill

A musician and and a director focusing on femininity. 

Credits: Thank You For Playing, Earn A Living, Through The Night

Meryam Joobeur

A Rawi Screenwriters lab , Med Film Factory, Berlinale Talent Lab and TIFF talent lab alumni. Her production company is called: INSTINCT BLEU 

Credits: Gods, Born in the Maelstrom, Brotherhood

Anais Blondet Medina

Artist and a filmmaker. Focuses on realism, feminism, music and absurdist dialogues.

Credits: Now They Know About My Madness

Kase Peña

Member of Writers Guild of America. Hired as a Staff Writer, as her first time on a scripted show. 


Credits: Full Beat, Trabajo